+3

Question : acces variable to an other master unit

Florent Mirieu de Labarre 7 years ago in IQANdesign updated by Gustav Widén (System support) 7 months ago 11

Dear

I have a multi master system with MD4-10 and MC42.

In the user interface I show every variable on the MD4-10 and the MC42, it is great and easy.

But in application when you need to acces to a variable on other master you can use APPIN/APPOUT or use Canbus function, it is hard to use. Why there are not a "super public" variable  cross master ?

Regards

GOOD, I'M SATISFIED
Satisfaction mark by Florent Mirieu de Labarre 6 years ago

Glad to hear that you find composing display pages a smooth operation. Super!

However, the data transferred for GUI use isn't really considered real time per se.

Exchanging information for use between applications is another matter.

Other considerations must be taken into account, the main limiting factor being bandwidth, but perhaps also transmit rate or the update frequency of the value on either end.

It would be great if all data, was available, everywhere, all the time. Bandwidth prevents that!

With a ""super public" variable cross master" (equivalent to GUI data transfer) you would probably very quickly and easily consume all available bandwidth, probably also unknowingly, until you could not transfer any more data, leaving you wondering why doesn't it work and, what do I do now.

So this boils down to making a decision for each place an external value is used.

Enter APPIN/APPOUT; They force the user to take these things into consideration.

Admittedly, the concept could probably be simplified/streamlined to some extent, but that's what we have today.

And even though it's easy to get values onto a display page, you can break the bank there too...

Cheers!

Also APPin and APPout consumes bandwith. Because for every signal an own CAN-message is created. APPIN/APPOUT are being used, when it comes to safety related messages.