+3
Completed

Bus-off recovery function?

David Hansson 5 years ago in IQANdesign updated by Gustav Widén (System support) 4 years ago 4 1 duplicate

Hi.

I have noticed that sometimes my MC43 gets stuck in a "Bus-off" state (Error code 3.4) a it does not recover, until I shut of the entire system. In my case the controller is used for steering and I need it to be able to reboot and recover locally on its own, in order for me to uphold my steering functionality without shutting down my system.

We have put in a functional request for this, and I'm just reaching out to see if anyone else is experiencing the same problem?

Regards

David PH Sc

Duplicates 1

Hi David,

I've been working with IQAN modules for 13 years. Quite sometime back, I had a similar experience using a MC2 as part of the control system for a military vehicles rear steer control system. In working through this with the IQAN personnel, I found that the low level firmware in IQAN modules does not implement the auto-retry function that is prescribed by the CAN 2.0b specification. The rational is that if a BusOff occurs, they don't want the module to (possibly) leave outputs in undefined states that could cause the affected hydraulic systems to behave abnormally.

The workaround that was suggested to me, at that time,  was to use a relay to supply power to the IQAN module through it's NC contact. Under normal Bus conditions, the relay is de-energized. The relay is to be controlled by a output from the module, such that it is to be energized when a Bus Off is detected. This in turn will cycle power on the affected module, resetting the Bus so it comes back on, as well as de-energizing the relay.