example solution for a single 2 axis Joystick used to control dual tracks on a machine like a dozer

Andy 3 years ago in IQANdesign updated by Ryan Bland 747 1 year ago 7

Hi People

I'm relatively new to IQAN but have been programming industrial PLC's for years. A few years back I used a dual axis 0.5 - 4.5v DC joystick and an IDEC PLC to create, among other solutions on the machine a drive motor tracking system for a large machine that is about the size of a D9 dozer that used a single joystick to control fwd-rev and turning. I may not be looking that well but I cant see any example of a single 2 axis joystick that is used to control a tracking system, rather all the examples provided with the software seem to have a separate input controller for each side (like an excavator) which is pretty simple to achieve, unlike the more complex (I think) math required to handle the 2 axis to 2 separate pump dual direction control.

Can anyone point me at an example I can use for this use case?

On this same machine I used a pair of modbus over RS485 ultrasonic height measuring transducers to control the machines working head height. Does anyone know of a set of ultrasonic height transducers that can run natively over canbus, or a modbus to canbus converter that I can use to deal with that function from the IDEC solution using IQAN?

The solution I have in place has heaps of individual inputs and outputs and hence the wiring on the machine is complex and of a single hub and spoke style rather that the more distributed multiple hub and spoke that a multi controller iqan solution would provide. Ideally I would like to look at moving from the IDEC PLC solution (Not that there is any issue with the IDEC controller, just the whole machine wiring complexity)

Thanks for any guidance you can provide

Regards

Andy Saywell

Since IQAN calculates all inputs and outputs as percentages the math is quite simple.

X is forward speed (-100% to +100%)

Y is turning (-100% to +100%)